Peanut Butter Cookies

Peanut butter, if you’re not allergic, is pretty amazing and I love how versatile it is. It can be decadent or  wholesome; chunky or smooth; a snack or a meal. Not to mention it’s inexpensive, something you can even make yourself, and pairs well with chocolate, banana, fruit…the list goes on.

I’m looking for an everyday peanut butter cookie. One that’s wholesomely decadent. One that doesn’t call for white flour and lots of butter, white sugar and brown sugar.

Enter this recipe. A few things I love about this recipe: I had everything in stock and there is no white flour, white sugar, butter or milk involved. I found this recipe about a month ago and now I wish I didn’t wait so long to try it. I should have known as I have liked all of the recipes I’ve attempted from 101cookbooks.com.

What makes this recipe shine is the pure maple syrup and the chunky peanut butter. Together the peanut butter flavor becomes sweeter and more complex.

While I always lick the spoon, this recipe was extra lick-able as it doesn’t call for eggs either!

Peanut Butter Cookies

{recipe from 101cookbooks.com}

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour, spelt flour, or unbleached all-purpose flour (I used Spelt)

1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
1 cup organic, chunky natural peanut butter (I used Teddie Peanut Butter- Super Chunky)
1 cup maple syrup
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Place racks in the top third.

In a medium mixing bowl combine the flour, baking soda, and salt.

In a separate larger bowl combine the peanut butter, maple syrup, olive oil, and vanilla. Stir until combined.

Pour the flour mixture over the peanut butter mixture and stir until barely combined – still a bit dusty looking. Let sit for five minutes, give one more quick stir, just a stroke or two.

Now drop by heaping tablespoonfuls onto parchment-lined baking sheets. Press down on each one gently with the bottom of a drinking glass.

Bake for 9-10 minutes (mine were 9 exactly)- but don’t over bake or they will be dry. Let cool five minutes and transfer to a cooling rack.

One Reply to “Peanut Butter Cookies”

  1. My youngest (19) decided to make peanut butter cookies yesterday. She made 48 big and very tasty cookies with chocolate chips and oatmeal through. I was pressed into doing the photography. That after having to shoot the elder daughter’s lemon drizzle cake the day before.
    Lovely shots, by the way.
    Best,
    Conor

Leave a Reply

