Three Flour Bread

Generally, if I don’t make bread then I don’t eat bread. I haven’t made bread since late-December. That must be some kind of record. I love bread. I was raised in a carb-loving, yeast-craving family. Breakfast doesn’t feel complete without some type of flour-based treat. Nothing eases me more than a lightly toasted piece of buttered homemade bread with a cup of tea. That was my RX when I first landed in Ireland- experiencing the meaning of homesick for the first time in my 19-year old life.

I’ve been using Uncle Rocco’s whole wheat and white bread recipe for a few years. I toyed with the recipe for the first time by changing up the flour combination and adding a bit more yeast. The result is a hearty, lightly-nutty, soft bread. This was my first experience with spelt flour. It reminds me of whole wheat, but it doesn’t seem as heavy.

I realize I need to venture off even further into bread making. Next up, challah.

Three Flour Bread

{recipe adapted from Uncle Rocco’s whole wheat and white bread}

1 1/2 cups of room temperature water

2 Tablespoons honey

1 Tablespoon molasses

1 cup white (I used organic flour)

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 cups spelt flour

3 Tablespoons wheat germ

2 Tablespoons ground flax-seed

2 1/2 teaspoons yeast

In order, place all ingredients in bread machine bowl (starting with wet to dry) and when ready to add the yeast, make a well in the flour and add it. Set the bread machine on “dough” setting and press start.

Meanwhile, lightly rub olive oil in a loaf pan and then dust with flour.

When the machine finishes the dough setting, pull the dough out and give it a few turns with your hands on a floured surface. Turn the dough until it is in the shape you want it. Place the dough in the oiled and floured pan, wrap with a kitchen towel and let it rise in a warm place until it doubles in size (or is the size you want it).

Set the oven to 350-degrees and place pan in the oven (do NOT preheat the oven). Bake for 40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

