Banana Chocolate Chunk Cookies (healthy style)

Today I was determined. Determined to make it to the AM spin class. I left on time. I got there on time. My determination paid off. Until, that is, I discovered I had arrived an hour late and the class was ending. I couldn’t walk out. I walked in and geared up my bike with such confidence and determination.  Instead of walking out, I decided to stay and spin on my own. I’ve never done this and at the start I thought I would never again, but by the end I was glad I made the mistake. I challenged myself and worked up a sweat. Feeling good, I went home and baked these cookies.

These cookies are packed with flavor. Banana, cinnamon, and chocolate. While in most cases it’s an oxy-moron, these cookies are healthy. Crazy-sauce! These cookies have no dairy, sugar (except for the chocolate chunks), or flour. How could they be good? They are good. Maybe it’s because they are guiltless, or maybe it’s because the cinnamon, chocolate and banana work so well together.

I will tell you, these aren’t like normal cookies. For the obvious reasons the lack of butter, sugar and flour really change the texture that I’ve come to love in a cookie. This cookie’s texture reminds me of a no-bake cookie.

Enjoy 2, or 3, or 10 with milk or tea and you won’t be disappointed! If you don’t like banana I read that applesauce is a good substitute.

Nikki’s Healthy Cookies

{Recipe from 101 Cookbooks}

3 large, ripe bananas, well mashed (about 1 1/2 cups)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup coconut oil, barely warm – so it isn’t solid (or alternately, olive oil)
2 cups rolled oats
2/3 cup almond meal
1/3 cup coconut, finely shredded & unsweetened
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
6 – 7 ounces chocolate chips or dark chocolate bar chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, racks in the top third.

In a large bowl combine the bananas, vanilla extract, and coconut oil. Set aside. In another bowl whisk together the oats, almond meal, shredded coconut, cinnamon, salt, and baking powder. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until combined. Fold in the chocolate chunks/chips.The dough is a bit looser than a standard cookie dough, don’t worry about it. Drop dollops of the dough, each about 2 teaspoons in size, an inch apart, onto a parchment (or Silpat) lined baking sheet. Bake for 12 – 14 minutes.

One Comment on “Banana Chocolate Chunk Cookies (healthy style)”

  1. a00180095 says:

    Reblogged this on a00180095 and commented:
    Wow”!!!!!


Leave a Reply

