My week detox

One week into January and the holiday season feels long gone. Long gone are the days of endless cookies and chocolates, merriment and eggnog. I suppose it’s a good thing, otherwise they’d wouldn’t be special.

Photo via Whole Living

Soon after Thanksgiving I decided, 2012 was the year I was going to complete a detox. Something I’ve wanted to do for a while, but every time I looked into it the expense scared me off more than anything. Why not DIY it? When I started looking into that, Whole Living’s plan seemed in line with a food philosophy I could stand behind and it started after the Christmas and New Year holidays. And, not only did the husband say he would support me, but he said that he wanted to do it too. It was on.

If you aren’t familiar, Whole Living’s detox week one is about eating fruits, vegetables and plant-based fats, nuts, to give your liver a break and recharge your system. Food groups to avoid are gluten, alcohol, caffeine, processed foods and meat**.

Photo by Bryan Gardner, via Whole Living

Here’s what we ate:

Breakfasts: Warm water with a 1/4 squeeze of fresh lemon, followed by a Smoothie (Antioxidant and Orange Berry were our favorite and the easiest for me to pull together before work)

Lunches: Piece of fruit and Smoothie, or Sweet Potato, Apple Salad

Snacks: Orange, Apple, or Bananas, and cup of juice (Fresh Blood Orange)

Dinners: Steamed Broccoli with Squash and Tahini (didn’t care for it); Acorn Squash Soup (Everyday Food Mag. recipe minus the half-n-half and added Cayenne pepper); Vegetable Stir-fry (whatever I had left in the fridge)

The rule of thumb with a detox, according to what I’ve read, is that you’ll feel good after 72 hours and my experience was just that. What surprised me was how long the headache lasted and my moodiness. Marshall had the headaches, but no moodiness (according to him at least, just kidding!). Exercise helped me curb my moods at night and ease into winding down.

I’m not going to sugar-coat it, this is the hardest quick-diet-change I’ve ever done. There was more than one time I begged M to let me stop, but I’m glad I had a partner to help push me through.

We got through the week and treated ourselves to a nice dinner out. Now what? Well, M and I learned a lot last week. For a whole week we ate nothing but fruits, vegetables and nuts. We learned we don’t eat as healthy as we could. We learned to incorporate more vegetarian meals into our diet. We learned that we can live without caffeine, something that we’ve decided to continue for now. We learned that we can live without alcohol for a week- that sounded better in my head!

Lastly, the stomach problems that I’ve been dealing with were non-existent during this detox and came back as soon as I drank my first cup of joe.

Our goal is to take what we learned this past week and continue to learn as we loosely follow week two this week, with us to make a lifestyle change that lasts. As, I know I feel better and the hus feels better.

**A few things to note: A few notes: Before the detox we drank 8-12 oz. of coffee a day; we never eat fast food; M has on beer a day and I had about 4 glasses of wine a week; neither of us ate a lot of processed foods; we eat organic meat and finally, we both have a sweet tooth.

One Comment on “My week detox”

  1. […] detoxing in early January, M and I have changed our lifestyle, eating style and it seems to be working as we […]


Leave a Reply

