Cinnamon Granola

Our tree is trimmed and watered. Our mantle is glowing with garland and homemade wintery scene mason jars (like these ones). The snow seems to be the one thing missing. It rained on my commute to work. It rained on my lunch errand. It rained on my ride to the gym and it rained on my ride home from the gym. Not a light rain, but a rain-rain. This is the time of year I enjoy snow.

However, I will count my lucky twinkle lights and be thankful that I can save some gas by not warming the car for 10 minutes before I have to leave the house and not having to run outside and brush the car off, or wear my ugly winter boots with my pants tucked into them (come on, you know it’s not that attractive). So, blessed twinkle lights I’m thankful today for rain and not snow, because if it’s not here today it will be here tomorrow and while fresh and beautiful it can really slow life down. Wait, is that bad?  

I made granola this weekend. Warm, cinnamony granola sweetened one of this earth’s most wonderful natural wonders maple syrup (the real stuff!) and coated with healthy ground flax-seed and wheat germ. The Little Red House must love me to keep sharing fabulously easy granola recipes or wonderful additions to my morning greek yogurt. 

Cinnamon Granola

{adapted slightly from the little red house}

2 cups rolled oats

2 cups rolled wheat

2 cups puffed wheat

1 cup sliced almonds

1 cup roughly chopped pecans

1/2 cup ground flax-seed

1/2 cup wheat germ

1 cup maple syrup (real)

1/3 cup coconut oil (in liquid form)

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1. Pre-heat oven to 300-degrees

2. Add all ingredients to a large bowl and mix until well coated

3. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper and evenly spread the mixture out onto each sheet

4. Bake for 40-45 minutes- until nice and crispy

3 Replies to “Cinnamon Granola”

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year «

Leave a Reply

