Rosemary & Wine Applesauce

My last post was titled, “Welcome to September.” It’s now November.

I’ve been terrified to start blogging again. I’m not sure why, but I know that I’ve written maybe 8 posts and I just can’t bring myself to post them. Something was lost in my time away and putting myself out there again seems scarier than it was the first time. The whole, “what is it all for,” and “who cares,” but after some unnecessary extra thought, I care and that’s enough. 

We had a beautiful fall weekend in Rochester. An “Indian Summer” of sorts. All I wanted to do was walk for miles to admire how beautiful the world is that God created while drinking the cinnamon-est, hottest apple cider. In the fall, our neighborhood is like the neighborhoods you see in movies. Orange, red and gold trees are hanging over the street and dropping their beautiful leaves onto our neighbors perfectly manicured lawns with doors adorned with fall wreaths. It makes me dream of Thanksgiving.

Alas, I couldn’t walk for miles this weekend in fact Marshall let me walk longer than I thought he would. On Friday I got my wisdom teeth removed. Yuck. So, to combat the annoyance of eating anything with texture I made applesauce.

The aroma of this applesauce may actually be more comforting than the finished product, but totally worth it. I stumbled upon this amazing new read: Nectar and with that came this interesting adult applesauce recipe.

Perfect on its own or especially warmed up on top of cold vanilla bean ice cream! Enjoy.

Rosemary & Wine Applesauce

{Recipe slightly adapted from Nectar}

5 pounds of apples (I used Empire)

1/2 fresh squeezed lemon

2 teaspoons cinnamon

pinch nutmeg

1 teaspoon cloves

1 Tablespoon dry Rosemary

2 cups apple cider

1 cup sweet wine

Peel, core and slice all apples. 

Combine apple cider and wine in a large pot over medium heat. Combine spices and rosemary and add to large pot. Add apples and cover until it boils. Uncover; add lemon juice and let it simmer under medium heat for 2 hours. When it starts to look thick and mushy it’s ready. If you like chunky applesauce use a spoon to smash it. If you like smooth applesauce use a food processor to get it to desired consistency. 

I’m looking forward to using this in my next apple pie!

2 Replies to “Rosemary & Wine Applesauce”

Leave a Reply

