Lemon Blueberry Cream Scones

Yesterday, I woke up to the pitter-patter of rain. The forecast had promised it and I was happy to hear it. It helped me stay in bed longer and the sound soothed my usual morning thoughts. I haven’t had a lazy day like yesterday since college. I read, I blogged, I drank tea, I napped and I made these lovely scones.

I didn’t even entertain the idea of a run; thankfully the rain knew my feet needed a day off. I started the coffee and started to think. As breakfast goes we were out of cereal and bread and I wanted M to wake up to a nice breakfast after the wedding the night before. The grapefruit sitting in my fruit bowl made me think of these and then I couldn’t get scones out of my mind- blueberry and lemon scones to be exact.

I started with a basic cream scone recipe and at the final stage I added blueberries and lemon zest. The end result was a perfectly dry scone bursting sweet blueberries and fresh lemon zest. The texture was light and a bit flakey- be sure not to over-mix and over-knead the dough that’s what keeps the texture flakey versus cakey.

If you aren’t interested in lemon blueberry try out a different citrus and/or fruit combinations, such as  lemon raspberry, lemon, or tangerine lime.  You can also choose to make the cream scones without any additions and serve them with butter, jam, or lemon curd.

Lemon Blueberry Cream Scones

{Recipe adapted from JoyofBaking.com- Cream Scones}

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 cup granulated sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/3 cup cold unsalted butter cut into pieces

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 large egg lightly beaten

1/2 cup heavy cream, milk, or half-and-half

1/2 cup fresh or frozen fresh blueberries (I used frozen fresh)

zest of 1 lemon

Place oven rack in the middle of the oven; pre-heat to 375 degrees; line a baking sheet with parchment paper

1. In a large bowl whisk together flour, sugar and baking powder.

2. Cut butter into flour mixture with finger tips or a pastry blender.

3. In a small bowl whisk together cream, egg and vanilla. Make a well in the flour mixture and fold the cream mixture into the flour mixture.

4. Fold until dough is ready to knead. Fold in the lemon zest and bluberries. It’s going to be a bit messy, but they will turn out fabulously! On a lightly floured surface knead dough 3-5 times. Flatten into a 7-inch circle.

5. Cut dough with a round cookie cutter- I used a small Ball Jar as I didn’t have a round cookie cutter. Place cut scones on the prepared baking sheet. Brush or lightly pour a small amount of cream on top of each scone.

6. Bake 12-15 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean and the tops are a light brown.

Leave a Reply

