Uncle Rocco’s Homemade Wheat-White Bread

I promise my next post won’t be about baking. I love knowing every ingredient I am eating- I am sure that sounds weird, most people try to avoid knowing what they are eating. My mother always had homemade bread lying around the house just begging to be toasted, turned into sandwiches, or buttered and eaten alongside a salad or bowl of pasta. I guess growing up with that makes me want that as an adult and provide that for my family. This bread is simple. It is made with water, whole wheat flour, white unbleached unbromated flour, molasses, honey, yeast, and gluten.

For nearly two months we haven’t purchased any bread. I’ve been making my Uncle Rocco’s famous half-n-half bread. It’s delicious and each and every time I make it I can’t even wait for it to cool…I slice a piece, butter and devour it. It’s delicious and its texture is perfect- flaky with a crispy outside. I use two things not everyone does. A bread machine to do all of the heavy lifting and gluten to lighten the dough and create a less dense bread. You don’t have to use the gluten, but your bread will come out bit heavier due to the whole wheat flour.


Uncle Rocco’s Half-n-Half Bread

1 1/2 cups room temperature water

2 tablespoons honey

1 tablespoon molasses

2 cups whole wheat flour

2 cups unbleached, unbromated white flour

2 tablespoons of gluten (optional)

2 teaspoons of yeast

Add water, honey, and molasses to the bread machine mixer; add flour and make a well in the top of the flour, pour gluten and yeast into the well. Choose the “dough” setting on your bread machine and let the machine do it’s job.

Grease and flour the loaf pan.

Once the machine beeps and the dough is ready, pull dough out of mixer onto a lightly floured surface; quickly knead into a loaf and put in loaf plan. Wrap the pan in a towel and place in a warm spot. Until the loaf has doubled in size, or reached the size you would like it.

Place the loaf in the oven and put the oven on 350-degrees (do not preheat). Bake until golden brown on top, about 40 minutes.

*A great way to check if your bread is done, slide it out of the pan and knock on the bottom, it should sound hollow.*

4 Comments on “Uncle Rocco’s Homemade Wheat-White Bread”

  1. Mama says:

    Your pics and descriptions amaze me! You are enjoying your kitchen and Marshall is enjoying the food. What a life!

  2. DM says:

    When are you goign to post your mom’s bread recipe? Or is that a family secret? 🙂


Leave a Reply

