Buttermilk Substitute

Do you ever try to substitute one thing for another. What happens when you don’t have eggs, milk, or butter for baking? Often I will substitute one percentage chocolate for another, or one kind of nut for another, just so I won’t have to run to the store. But what happens when you want to make a cake that calls for buttermilk and that isn’t something I even want to pick up, because I don’t use it often enough? I search the amazing internet for buttermilk substitutes, that’s what I do.

I wanted to surprise M with a cake- a red velvet cake– but I didn’t have a key ingredient, buttermilk. There are a few substitutes for buttermilk, but most involve using milk. Since discovering that milk and lemons can solve my buttermilk woes I’ve used the trick three times it hasn’t failed me yet.

Milk & Lemon Juice Buttermilk Substitute

{Recipe checked via three sources: How.com; JoytheBaker.com; GoodLifeEats.com}

1 cup milk (skim, low-fat, or whole)
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice*

Pour milk and add lemon juice. Let it sit for 3-5 minutes and it’s ready for use. The milk will look curdled. Stir it and you’ve got buttermilk!

*White Vinegar will also work, but I haven’t tried that method*

Now, you probably want to know how it turned out. The red velvet cake was so amazing I’m not sure I would use buttermilk if I had it. This is a great trick to have at the ready!

One Reply to “Buttermilk Substitute”

Leave a Reply

