Baked Cinnamon & Sugar Doughnuts

Sleep is my best friend and my worst enemy, but this past week it’s been the latter. I’d really like to make up soon and be best friends again. I was up with the sun and when that happens I sleepily make coffee, sleepily wait for it to brew and happily consume it. But this morning was a “time to make the doughnuts” kind of morning. I found this recipe a while ago and have been patiently waiting for the right time to make them. So, before I even started grinding the beans and pouring the water, I pulled out my Kitchen Aid, measuring cups and ingredients and started measuring, pouring and mixing- a little slower no doubt. When the sun struck 9:15 I pulled the baked doughnuts out of the oven and started to coat them with cinnamon and sugar.

Baked doughnuts are just as yummy as their fried friends and a little less guilt-ridden. Not only did these treats excite me, but until this day, I was a dough-hook virgin. I’ve been waiting to try a recipe that called for anything but the paddle attachment. This dough is sticky, annoyingly so. Let your mixer do the hard work and just wait for the dough to start pulling away from the sides.

Who knew doughnut dough needed kneading. It does. I love kneading dough. It reminds me of my grandmother. We have a lot of tools in the kitchen that can do a lot of things for us, but there really is no replacement for kneading. After  letting the dough double in size I punched it down and rolled it out to about an inch thick. I used a glass and shot glass in place of a doughnut cutter and cut the doughnuts out. Instead of folding the shot glass cut, or the middle of the doughnut, back into the leftover dough I put them on the sheet for doughnut holes (very dangerous).

These were easy. Really, really easy, just a bit time-consuming to wait for the yeast to work! My sleepiness meant that these warm, chewy and gooey treats were ready just about when Marshall got up. Perfect timing!

Baked Cinnamon & Sugar Doughnuts: Recipe from Honey & Jam

One Comment on “Baked Cinnamon & Sugar Doughnuts”


Leave a Reply

