Recipe: Homemade Granola

Sunday morning I was up early. I love weekend mornings. They are quiet. I don’t even have children, but it feels like the calm before the storm. Nearly two hours after I’m up my husband rises. It’s our weekend ritual and by the time he’s down the stairs I’m usually ready for my second cup. It’s perfect timing. It’s my me time and I look forward to it all week.

Inspiration finds me during these morning hours. Anything I want to do with my day is possible. I read blogs I love, I find new blogs, I bookmark projects I want to tackle or recipes that make me swoon. I journal and make goals for myself, or sometimes I shamelessly watch something “girly” that my husband would laugh at.

This past Sunday I found this recipe and the rest of my day seemed to shape around it. Despite the snow storm I trekked to the store and purchased all of the ingredients. Came home and measured, stirred, scooped and baked.

It was really that easy and it is really that good. We’ve now had it two ways, with milk and with yogurt and it’s sweet, crunchy and delicious. The best part, you can add whatever you want to it. Next time there will be an additional cup of puffed wheat, shaved coconut and some cinnamon. I think I now know how I could recreate Smacks!

Homemade Granola

Homemade Granola

Recipe from The Little Red House: Pre-heat oven to 300-degrees

{add to large bowl}

4 cups of oats
2 cups puffed wheat (unsweetened)
1 cup unsweetened coconut
1 cup chopped almonds (not ground)
1/2 cup ground flax seed
1/4 cup wheat germ
3/4 cup pure maple syrup (not the fake stuff)
1/3 cup olive oil
1 tsp vanilla
1. Mix until well coated
2. Spread out on two parchment-lined baking sheets
3. Bake for 30-40 minutes- until oats are browned and crispy! Be sure to rotate the pan and shake it a bit.
4 Replies to “Recipe: Homemade Granola”

  1. Homemade granola is THE BEST thing EVER. And the reason god gave us pecans, if you ask me 🙂

    Try it with Almond Oil next time, I use it in mine when it called for olive. I know you’re an almond girl. It’s darn good.

    1. We’ve been finding fun ways to use the granola too! We made granola pancakes for dinner last night. They were awesome, but I’m sure they would have been even better with Almond oil. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

