Shaking off the day

Today was a crazy day. It started and finished that way. I was only half-way through my coffee when I realized it was 11 a.m. and I should really be drinking water. Yeah I’m that kind of girl. That’s when I knew it was going to be a long day. How do you handle your long days? Drink a glass of wine, vent to your husband/spouse/friend/mom, have a little extra ice cream, workout, or curl up to watch TV or read?

Image from DegreeDirectory.org

Lately, the first two with a little bit of cooking tends to be my remedy, but there’s a past method that I’ve recently resurrected- journal writing. It works. Right before I go to bed my heads starts to race with ideas. I have written some of my best blogs before I go to bed, even though you’ve never seen them. I promise they were my best. There’s something about that time that is perfect for writing. So, the other day I took a trip to Target and purchased a journal. Last night I pulled out my felt tip pen and started writing. Total and utter crap was on each page that I turned, but that’s what the before-bed journal writing is for. You.

It reminded me of 6th grade when I first started journal writing and loved it. Only this time it wasn’t about boys (thank goodness). It was about….

So glad tomorrow is Friday!

2 Replies to “Shaking off the day”

  1. I like that. I’ve been keeping a journal since I was 14 (I’m 56 now) and for most of the last decade have blogged as well. It’s good for what ails you – junk or no. I talked to someone yesterday who writes in her journal with a fountain pen. I did that in the 90s. Memories!

Leave a Reply

