Almond Macaroons

It’s a cookie kind of Monday.

I haven’t been diligent in making Christmas cookies this year. Everyone has their favorites and my two are Almond Macaroons and Chocolate Italian Meatball Cookies. For some reason they remind me of my Nonnie. I so wish I had her recipes. She was one of those amazing Italian cooks who cooked with her heart and memory- not a recipe- and therefore many of her secrets are lost. Every time I make Almond Macaroons I try a new recipe. Someday I will find the perfect one…this one is pretty close!

Mrs. K’s Famous Almond Macaroons

1 can Almond Paste

1 egg white (extra large)

1/2 cup sugar

Maraschino Cherries, slivered Almonds or Extra Sugar to top (optional)

Break almond paste into small pieces and place into food processor (I used my Kitchen Aid). Add sugar and mix well. Add egg white and mix until moist (I love that word) and sticky (tacky). Approximately 2 minutes. Drop rounded tablespoons onto parchment paper-lined cookie sheet. Top with optional toppings. Bake 20 minutes on middle rack, until light golden brown. Move parchment paper onto cooling rack and when cool peel macaroons off paper. Store in airtight container.

Leave a Reply

