Baking my first apple pie

Thanksgiving number one was tonight, thank you G & G Ward! Yesterday I shared my adventure in making my first pie crust. When we got home from dinner I decided to start the first of two pies I have to make for Thanksgiving two and three- the apple pie.

The recipe is my mother’s and it’s for a 10-inch pie: 8 cups of thinly sliced apples, 1 teaspoon nutmeg, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 cup sugar, and 1/3 cup flour. The crumble topping ingredients are: 1/2 cup butter, 1 cup flour and 1/2 cup packed brown sugar.

Since my kitchen isn’t put back together, it’s easier for me to pull all of the tools and ingredients I will need from the dining room before starting. Peeling apples is one of my least favorite things, so I started with this. I peeled the apples, cut them in quarters and then sliced them thinly until I had 8 cups of apples. After this I mixed together the dry ingredients for the filling and set it aside to roll out the pie crust. Here is a look into my first apple pie.

I covered the sides of the pie with aluminum foil to make sure the crust didn’t burn, after 30 minutes I covered the whole pie with aluminum foil. The pie baked at 450-degrees for 50 minutes.

It looks wonderful…but I am oh so curious to taste it and I’m a little nervous that I can’t test it before serving it to Marshall’s family. Tomorrow I am tackling a pecan pie, no-knead dinner rolls and ham and gruyere thumbprints.

Leave a Reply

